RSS Feed

Tomato, Tomato

Posted on

Tomatoes are a pretty big deal in my family. My maternal grandfather, Bernard L. Pollack, was a horticulturist at Rutgers and in 1968 he engineered the Ramapo Tomato. As he describes it, “this hybrid was intended for the home gardener who was tired of eating tomatoes that tasted like the boxes that they were shipped in.” My grandfather has developed several other strains of tomatoes, including the Abbie which was named after my mother. As you can imagine, we’re what you might call “tomato snobs.” I cringe when I see people put tomatoes in the refrigerator (the cold temperature tampers with the sweet flavor), and my mom hardly allows ketchup at the dinner table, referring to it as “tomato murder.” Every year I literally count down the days to the time when the best tomatoes are finally in season: heirloom, beefsteak, early girl. Until then, I am lucky to have access to pretty good cherry and grape tomatoes year round. I use them in salads, pasta sauces, scrambles, or I just eat them out of the basket like candy.

Cherry tomatoes also make for a nice sauce over pan-fried white fish. I usually sauté them with lemon and capers, but last night I decided to switch it up a bit. I was inspired by this dish from the recipe book of Trefethen Family Winery, but improvised based on the ingredients at my disposal and came up with my own tomatoey version.

White Fish with Spicy Tomato Sauce (serves 2)

  • 2 TB olive oilingredients
  • 1 lb (2 fillets) flounder, or other white, flakey fish
  • salt and pepper
  • salt-free poultry or seafood seasoning (I like Penzeys)
  • 1/4 cup chopped Italian parsley
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 small shallot, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped Kalamata olives
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • juice from 1/2 lemon

fish

In a large non-stick pan, heat olive oil over a medium-high flame. Season one side of the fish with salt, pepper and seafood seasoning. Place fish fillets in the pan, seasoned side down and cook for 3 minutes on each side. Transfer to a serving dish.

Add parsley and red pepper flakes to the pan and sauté for 1 minute. Add tomatoes, garlic, shallots and olives and sauté for 2 minutes. Add the white wine and continue to sauté until most of it has cooked off (about 2 more minutes). Spoon tomato sauce over fish, squeeze with a bit of lemon, and serve! I added a bit more green to the dish with some zucchini sautéed in olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper – inspired by Annie P.

tomato sauce

balsamic zucchini

 

trefethenAs suggested in the original recipe, I paired this dish with Trefethen 2011 Harmony Chardonnay. I was a bit apprehensive about pairing Chardonnay with tomatoes, but I was hopeful that the Harmony would be able to stand up to the acid and spice in the dish – and I was right! The Harmony held it’s ground and was a refreshing pair to the flavorful fish, showcasing a bright, lemony side that was complemented by a bit of creaminess. As for the tomato sauce, it was deliciously spicy and I loved the addition of Kalamata olives. I will definitely be making this again, and I think it would also go well over roasted chicken.

 

dish

Special thanks to my mother and her wonderful parents, Bernie and Sonia, who have spoiled me with delicious tomatoes over the last 28 years, and taught me how respect the integrity of the tomato. I can’t wait to have a garden of my own some day, where I can carry on the tradition of Ramapo tomatoes.

About Kelsey

Kelsey is a food and wine lover residing in Napa, California, where she does marketing for a boutique wine collective. She previously lived in San Francisco for over six years, where her blogging journey began. She loves to cook seasonal meals and experiment with new wine pairings. She has been drinking and learning about wine with her father since she was 14, and cooking in the kitchen with her mother since she was 6. Both of her parents taught her well about seasoning and flavors, and she continues to learn more with every meal that is made.

One response »

  1. Ketchup is indeed tomato murder! This recipe looks delicious, I am always looking for new ways to prepare fish.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Candid with a Corkscrew

A Sommelier's Misadventures Abroad

Fit Brit

Fitness & Life Chronicals

shady morels

honest food

thewinelifestyle

So close to wine

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

marina girl eats

Technical Cooking Skills for an Unconventional Cooking Life

The Crafty Cook Nook

Preserving Food, Stories, and Place

Lacy Travels

Feed Your Travel & Inspiration Bug

What's in the glass tonight

I love New Zealand wine

Linda in the Kitchen

seasonal eats & healthy treats, made with Love.

Winelandia

Natural & organic wine in the San Francisco Bay Area

That Great Little Spot

discoveries of the millennial traveler: a writer, photographer, beach bum, adventure junkie and street food connoisseur

fromditchplainstolevanto

favorites from around the globe

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

