RSS Feed

Splurging at Redd in Yountville

Posted on

I got in a lot of good wine tasting over Thanksgiving in Napa Valley (which will be documented this week), but I also visited a couple great restaurants that I had never been to, including Redd in Yountville. Annie P. has been raving about this place for years, and I finally got a chance to check it out with her and another friend (who shall be known as RayJay) on the Friday after Thanksgiving. The restaurant showcases the finest and freshest ingredients that are regionally seasonal, executing beautiful plates and refined flavors. And to match the delicious food, there is an extensive wine list, in addition to a menu of artisan cocktails.

Wild Bill cocktail

Wild Bill cocktail – Buffalo Trace Bourbon, benedictine, egg white, lemon, orange, angostura bitters

Rose

Annie. P already had a “Damage Control” in hand when RayJay and I arrived after parking, so RayJay ordered another and I opted for the “Wild Bill” – because I can’t resist a cocktail with bourbon and egg whites. Both were refreshing and tasty without being too alcoholic. Annie P. suggested that we also order a bottle of the Cep Rose 2012 Russian River, her second favorite pink wine (with Sinskey’s being the first). I winced at the price ($58) but thought, what the heck –  it’s got to be her favorite for a reason. As expected, it was very nice; light and dry with floral notes and hints of spice, strawberries and orange zest. And it went very well with our meal!

Sashimi of hamachi

Sashimi of hamachi with sticky rice, edamame, and lime ginger sauce

Yellowfin tuna

Yellowfin tuna and hamachi tartare with avocado, chili oil, fried rice and cilantro

Again at Annie P.’s suggestion, we shared two appetizers: sashimi of hamachi, and yellowfin tuna and hamachi tartare. I was initially worried about the dishes being too similar because they both included hamachi, but they were each very uniquely composed with different flavors and textures. I loved both dishes, but slightly favored the sashimi for it’s simplicity.

Shrimp salad

roasted chicken

Ray ordered the shrimp salad with avocado, bacon and caesar dressing and Annie P. opted for the roasted chicken with root vegetables, mushroom, spinach and potato puree. I tried both of their dishes, and the shrimp in RayJay’s salad were cooked and seasoned perfectly. The roasted chicken was tender and moist, and the sauce was delicious! I helped her finish off the last of the potatoes 🙂

scallops

Still, I loved my entree the most! I ordered caramelized diver scallops with cauliflower puree, almonds and balsamic reduction. They were beautifully seared, and I particularly enjoyed the pieces of roasted cauliflower mixed in with the puree. I wish I had more Rosé to taste with the dish, but the bottle was already finished by the time I realized my glass was empty. Oops!

dessert

To finish off the already amazing meal, we shared a huckleberry sorbet panna cotta with roasted pumpkin seeds. I’m not usually a dessert person, but this was very tasty! I loved the addition of the crispy pumpkin seeds with the granita and smooth sorbet on top. Just like everything else we ordered, the textures were perfectly balanced and the flavor components were spot-on. I can’t wait to go back and taste the rest of the menu, though the sashimi might have to be a repeat. I knew Annie P. wouldn’t steer me wrong!

About Kelsey

Kelsey is a food and wine lover residing in Napa, California, where she does marketing for a boutique wine collective. She previously lived in San Francisco for over six years, where her blogging journey began. She loves to cook seasonal meals and experiment with new wine pairings. She has been drinking and learning about wine with her father since she was 14, and cooking in the kitchen with her mother since she was 6. Both of her parents taught her well about seasoning and flavors, and she continues to learn more with every meal that is made.

One response »

  1. Redd is one of my absolute favorite restaurants! I’m glad you enjoyed it, everything looks and sounds amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Candid with a Corkscrew

A Sommelier's Misadventures Abroad

Fit Brit

Fitness & Life Chronicals

shady morels

honest food

thewinelifestyle

So close to wine

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

marina girl eats

Technical Cooking Skills for an Unconventional Cooking Life

The Crafty Cook Nook

Preserving Food, Stories, and Place

Lacy Travels

Feed Your Travel & Inspiration Bug

What's in the glass tonight

I love New Zealand wine

Linda in the Kitchen

seasonal eats & healthy treats, made with Love.

Winelandia

Natural & organic wine in the San Francisco Bay Area

That Great Little Spot

discoveries of the millennial traveler: a writer, photographer, beach bum, adventure junkie and street food connoisseur

fromditchplainstolevanto

favorites from around the globe

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

