RSS Feed

Arrivederci!

Posted on

“Arrivederci” – or farewell… See you later! I’m all packed and ready for my three week trip to Italy and Spain, and I could not be more excited. My flight takes off tonight from SFO and I land at Heathrow tomorrow afternoon, where I have a quick layover before flying to Rome to meet up with my travel partner and very best friend, known as Sissy.

From Rome, we will rent a little Fiat 500 and drive up the countryside to Montepulciano and Umbria, where we will spend four days and four nights visiting wineries, eating steak, touring a cheese farm, and laying out by a pool. Jealous yet?

From Umbria we will drive North to a small town called Panzano in Chianti, where we will have lunch at Dario Cecchini’s famed Solociccio. After filling our bellies with some of the most deliciously prepared meat in the world, we will continue to Pisa to return our Fiat and say hello to a wobbly building before taking a bus to Lucca.

At the suggestion of Panini Girl, Sissy and I will stay in Lucca for three nights, taking in the food, culture, nearby beaches, and of course wine. I am most looking forward to this part of the trip, as I have heard so many incredible stories from everyone who has been to Lucca.

20130701-103448.jpgOur last Italian destination will be Bologna, where I will stay for three nights (Sissy must leave after two nights). We will take a cooking class with “Taste of Italy” and learn how to make various pastas and vegetable dishes. I can’t wait to learn how to make tortellini!

From Bologna I will continue on my own to stay for five nights in Barcelona and San Sebastian, where there will of course be more food and wine, of the Spanish varietal!

I will post updates and images of delicious food and wine as often as I can, but please excuse my sporadic contact as I’m not sure how often I will be able to access wifi.

Any suggestions? Leave them in the comments section! And until next time, caio and cin cin!!!

About Kelsey

Kelsey is a food and wine lover residing in Napa, California, where she does marketing for a boutique wine collective. She previously lived in San Francisco for over six years, where her blogging journey began. She loves to cook seasonal meals and experiment with new wine pairings. She has been drinking and learning about wine with her father since she was 14, and cooking in the kitchen with her mother since she was 6. Both of her parents taught her well about seasoning and flavors, and she continues to learn more with every meal that is made.

2 responses »

  1. Have the best time!!!!!! xoxoxox

    Reply
  2. I am looking forward to the stories and photos, have a great adventure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Candid with a Corkscrew

A Sommelier's Misadventures Abroad

Fit Brit

Fitness & Life Chronicals

shady morels

honest food

thewinelifestyle

So close to wine

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

marina girl eats

Technical Cooking Skills for an Unconventional Cooking Life

The Crafty Cook Nook

Preserving Food, Stories, and Place

Lacy Travels

Feed Your Travel & Inspiration Bug

What's in the glass tonight

I love New Zealand wine

Linda in the Kitchen

seasonal eats & healthy treats, made with Love.

Winelandia

Natural & organic wine in the San Francisco Bay Area

That Great Little Spot

discoveries of the millennial traveler: a writer, photographer, beach bum, adventure junkie and street food connoisseur

fromditchplainstolevanto

favorites from around the globe

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

