RSS Feed

Rice Bowling

Posted on

Last night I was craving a big bowl of pasta, but I knew it would counter all the exercise and salad-eating I had done this week so I forced myself to put it out of my mind. But I was still starving and needed to make something that would fill me up AND be healthy. I assessed my fridge contents and pulled out some red cabbage, a yellow pepper, a carrot, garlic and an onion. The image of a stir fry started to linger in my head, and I remembered that I had a Thai chili chicken sausage in the freezer. Now I was starting to get somewhere, but I needed a few more elements to complete the dish. I remembered feasting on a delicious rice bowl at a friends house last month, complete with a fried egg and salt-n-pepper yogurt and I started to salivate. I pulled out my TJ’s brown rice medley from the pantry and started the rice cooker. Let’s do this.

Thai-ish Rice Bowl (serves 2-4)photo 1

  • 1/2 cup brown rice, uncooked
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 sweet onion, sliced
  • 1 yellow pepper, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 Thai chili chicken sausage, casing removed
  • 1 cup red cabbage, sliced
  • 1 carrot, shredded
  • 1/2 cup 0% Greek yogurt
  • salt and pepper to taste

Start by cooking the rice first, as it takes the longest. When you have about 15 minutes left to go, heat olive oil in a large nonstick pot. Sauté the onion, garlic and pepper first for about 5 minutes or until the onions are softened. Add the sausage and continue to saute until browned, about 5 more minutes. Add the cabbage and carrot and continue to cook over medium heat until all the vegetables are softened. Once the rice is ready, stir into the pot to combine. And you’re done!

vegetables

This is just an example of the rice bowl that I made, but you can really do this with any vegetables and proteins that you have on hand. Or you can make the whole dish vegetarian and top with a fried egg for some extra protein. I was particularly starving last night so I added a sunny side up egg to my dish, but sadly I overcooked it just 30 seconds too long. It still tasted good!

rice bowl

The thing that pulls everything together is the salt-n-pepper yogurt, which is exactly what it sounds like: 0% Greek yogurt with a dash of salt and pepper. The slightly sour, creamy, salty mixture ties together the ingredients perfectly and adds an extra zing to the dish.

This temporarily satisfied my craving for pasta, but I’m still dreaming about Spaghetti alle Vongole. I think I know what my post DietBet meal will be…

About Kelsey

Kelsey is a food and wine lover residing in Napa, California, where she does marketing for a boutique wine collective. She previously lived in San Francisco for over six years, where her blogging journey began. She loves to cook seasonal meals and experiment with new wine pairings. She has been drinking and learning about wine with her father since she was 14, and cooking in the kitchen with her mother since she was 6. Both of her parents taught her well about seasoning and flavors, and she continues to learn more with every meal that is made.

Leave a Reply

Candid with a Corkscrew

A Sommelier's Misadventures Abroad

Fit Brit

Fitness & Life Chronicals

shady morels

honest food

thewinelifestyle

So close to wine

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

marina girl eats

Technical Cooking Skills for an Unconventional Cooking Life

The Crafty Cook Nook

Preserving Food, Stories, and Place

Lacy Travels

Feed Your Travel & Inspiration Bug

What's in the glass tonight

I love New Zealand wine

Linda in the Kitchen

seasonal eats & healthy treats, made with Love.

Winelandia

Natural & organic wine in the San Francisco Bay Area

That Great Little Spot

discoveries of the millennial traveler: a writer, photographer, beach bum, adventure junkie and street food connoisseur

fromditchplainstolevanto

favorites from around the globe

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

