RSS Feed

It’s the most wonderful time of the year… Rosé season!

Posted on

Ahhh, my favorite time of the year: Rosé season. Any restaurant I go to, I order Rosé. Any time the sun comes out in San Francisco, I drink Rose. Any winery I come across that makes Rosé, I try (or usually buy) it.

I love Rosé. I love how it’s this delicious combination of sweet and tart. I love the different tastes and shades of Rosé – though, I usually prefer Rosés of the light, peachy color. I love how when you open the first Rosé of the year, you know it’s Springtime.

Note: Please do not confuse my beautiful Rosé with the pathetic-excuse-for-a-wine White Zinfandel that I would rather ban from a river boat dinner cruise than let anyone mistakenly drink it (true story; San Antonio, Spring 2011).

My father insists that Rosé over $20 isn’t worth buying; that it’s a casual drinking wine that should be priced at $15. I’d also like to note that while there are several great California Rosés in the $15-20 range, you can’t go wrong with Southern France Rosé and it’s almost always under $15. That being said, here are my Rosé recommendations for the Spring/Summer:

2011 Navarro Rosé – $16.50. This Mendocino winery is known for producing excellent, affordable wines, especially their whites, Pinot Noir and Rosé. I bumped into them at Vintners Market last weekend and tried their 2011 Rose that they just released in March. I ended up walking away with half a case for about $86.00 (granted, I’m a club member so my discount helped a bit). This Rosé of Grenache is not too sweet with nice floral tones and crisp summer fruit flavors. Perfection.

2011 Bonny Doon Vin Gris de Cigare Rosé – $16.00. Another Rosé of Grenache, this pink wine from Bonny Doon is light and fruity, with notes of peach, strawberry and white cherries. I also tried this at Vintners Market and adored it. I will definitely be looking for it at my local BevMo soon.

2010 Domaine Begude Pinot Noir Vin de Pays d’Oc Rosé – $12.99 at K&L. I drank about half a case of the 2010 last year, so I can only imagine that the 2011 has lived up to it’s predecessor.

2011 Argiolas Serra Lori Isola dei Nuraghi Rosato – $14. This Sardinia Rosé is flavored with berries, roasted carrots and a touch of citrus. Vibrant and flavorful with a long finish, it’s great for food pairings – especially barbecue.

2011 Chateau Revelette Rose – $18.99 on WineAccess.com. This is a great Rosé from the Provence region of Southern France. This pale salmon-pink wine is crisp, vibrant, and bone dry with harmonious acidity. Maybe hard to find in retail, but check with your local wine shop.

Even Bethenny Frankel has released a Skinnygirl Rosé that has been reported as “sweet and light” by one reviewer. While I am a huge fan of the Skinnygirl cocktails, I’m not sure I trust wine that is advertised as “low-calorie”. After all, most wines are about 100 calories per glass anyway. That being said, I will not be shy to try!

Last but not least, don’t forget about sparkling Rosé! Mumm, Domaine Carneros, and Iron Horse are some of my favorite Northern California wineries that produce sparklers. Mumm actually produces three different Rosé sparklers: DVX, Brut and Brut Reserve. Cava (Spain) and Prosecco (Italy) also make for great sparkling Rosés, and are a nice way to start off the evening before dinner.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to have a glass of my Navarro Rosé. Cheers!

About Kelsey

Kelsey is a food and wine lover residing in Napa, California, where she does marketing for a boutique wine collective. She previously lived in San Francisco for over six years, where her blogging journey began. She loves to cook seasonal meals and experiment with new wine pairings. She has been drinking and learning about wine with her father since she was 14, and cooking in the kitchen with her mother since she was 6. Both of her parents taught her well about seasoning and flavors, and she continues to learn more with every meal that is made.

6 responses »

  1. I love sparkling Rose! As you know, I don’t do the wine shopping in our family, but on a recent visit to Tarry Market and Wine Merchants in Port Chester
    I purchased two bottles of the Flor Rose Brut Prosecco for $15 each. It is 12% alcohol, made from 90% Glera and 10% Pinto Nero grapes. Delicious and refreshing!

    Reply
    • Looks like there is a place in Oakland that sells it for $15.40 per bottle, but you have to get a minimum of wine case and special order it. Otherwise I can get it online at winedeals.com for only $12.74 a bottle. Or just wait until I come to NY in a couple of weeks and have it with you 🙂

      Reply
  2. I am cooking up a feast for friends on Friday night including a tequila and lime spiced roast chicken and black bean & corn salad… what wine would you recommend pairing with it?

    Reply
    • Epicurious Brit:

      I would do a selection of a white and Rose. Albarino or South African Chenin Blanc would be a good white selection, and you can do any French Rose (BevMo has a few options under $20, I would look for something in the $13-16 range).

      For whites:
      2010 Burgans Albariño, $12.99 at BevMo (with club card)
      2010 Simonsig Chenin Blanc, $11.99 at BevMo

      For your friends that only drink red wine, you could do a light Pinot from Anderson Valley or Oregon. But if you’re friends aren’t picky, I would skip the red.

      Let me know how it turns out!

      Reply
  3. Kelsey- interesting that you mention the 2011 Ch. Revelette rose. I tasted it a few weeks ago and thought it was a classic provencal rose- just the right texture and combo of fruit and floral qualities while being bone dry. However, I am surprised at your SF price. I got 6 bottles from Varmax in Portchester, NY for 12.75/btl ($15, minus my 15% discount)! All you San Francisco Rose fans- check out Varmax!
    John

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Candid with a Corkscrew

A Sommelier's Misadventures Abroad

Fit Brit

Fitness & Life Chronicals

shady morels

honest food

thewinelifestyle

So close to wine

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

marina girl eats

Technical Cooking Skills for an Unconventional Cooking Life

The Crafty Cook Nook

Preserving Food, Stories, and Place

Lacy Travels

Feed Your Travel & Inspiration Bug

What's in the glass tonight

I love New Zealand wine

Linda in the Kitchen

seasonal eats & healthy treats, made with Love.

Winelandia

Natural & organic wine in the San Francisco Bay Area

That Great Little Spot

discoveries of the millennial traveler: a writer, photographer, beach bum, adventure junkie and street food connoisseur

fromditchplainstolevanto

favorites from around the globe

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

